BORING UPDATE

Since first announcing my plans to hold a Boring conference, I have been quite busy sorting out all of the details. Things have developed since I first suggested the idea, and while I originally thought I’d try to find a venue which could hold about fifty people, this has grown a bit into something bigger. I’ll be announcing the venue details shortly.

In the meantime, I thought I’d give a bit of an update. The conference will take place on Saturday December 11th 2010, probably from about 11am-ish until about 5.30pm, or something like that. There will be lots of speakers, talking for either five, ten or twenty minutes, although the format could change.

Here is a list of just some of the people who will be speaking:

Rhodri Marsden
Rhodri writes about technology for the Independent, and writes about other stuff too for other people. He also appears on 6Music to talk about web stuff. He’s written two books, FWD This Link about the internet, and The Next Big Thing about things which seemed like a good idea at the time. He is a very nice man.

Greg Stekelman
Greg Stekelman is part-human, part-Twitter. He barely exists in the real world, and when he does venture outside, it is normally just to get a bus to take him to a room somewhere. He has written a book called A Year In The Life Of Themanwhofellasleep and is also some sort of an illustrator. In fact, he has designed a logo for Boring 2010 which shall be unveiled soon. I have no idea what he is going to talk about.

Naomi Alderman
Naomi Alderman is the author of Disobedience and The Lessons and has won all sorts of awards. She also writes about gaming for The Guardian and other stuff as well. I think she is going to talk about growing up in an household where the Orthodox Jewish Sabbath is strictly observed and you’re basically not allowed to do anything fun.

Peter Fletcher
Since Thursday the 12th of July 2007, Peter Fletcher has kept a record of every single time he has sneezed. He has logged, not just the time and date of each sneeze, but also where he was, what he was doing and how powerful the sneeze was. He recently spoke about the first one thousand sneezes at Ignite London but has something much bigger planned for his sneeze data. He won’t be talking about sneezes at Boring though, he’ll be talking about something else.

Leila Johnston
Leila is one half of the Shift Run Stop podcast which has previously featured both Naomi and Peter as guests, but I definitely didn’t just rummage through the Shift Run Stop archives looking for ideas. She has written two books, Enemy Of Chaos which I have read and enjoyed, and How to Worry Friends and Inconvenience People which I haven’t read but is probably very good.

Lewis Dryburgh
Lewis is a sort of genius experimenting in the field of loveliness. He is currently leaving little messages around Aberdeen for strangers to find. He also posts his mobile phone number on Twitter and invites strangers to call him for a little chat. I think he’s going to talk about car park roofs, as he often goes to eat his lunch on them and recently shared his lunch with a falcon. I think it was a falcon. It might have been a hawk.

Geoff Lloyd
Geoff presents the Hometime show on Absolute Radio and is misguided enough to have invited me on the show twice. The first time was on the night of the election and I got drunk and told a very long, rambling anecdote about nail bombers, the second time was after this incident. I’m not sure what Geoff will be talking about. Possibly drunk men who tell long, rambling anecdotes about nail bombers.

Lee Rourke
Part One of Lee Rourke’s critically acclaimed novel The Canal is headed “Boredom”, so he seemed like a fairly obvious choice for Boring 2010. He has also written a collection of short stories called Everyday. He writes for The Guardian and the Independent and is the contributing editor at 3:AM Magazine.

Joe Moran
Joe Moran is a writer and academic, who teaches at Liverpool John Moores University. He has written several books, including Queuing For Beginners and On Roads, and regularly writes for the Guardian and the Financial Times. Joe’s particular interest as a cultural historian is in the everyday. He will be talking about motorways.

That sounds quite good, doesn’t it?

Tags:

4 Responses to “BORING UPDATE”

  1. Sounds brilliant.

    You inspired me to update my blog A KICK UP THE ARTS with a post about dull and boring art.

    Really difficult! Lots of artists get quite interesting when addressing dull issues or conversely present something very plain (like a monochrome) to make interesting points.

    How about someone talking about boring art? Maybe just a performance of Cage’s 4’33″ ?

    Akuta

  2. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

